Journeys of Identity in Music

January 7, 2022 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Hermitage Artist Retreat Beach
6660 Manasota Key Road
Florida 34223
Journeys of Identity in Music @ Hermitage Artist Retreat Beach

Journeys of Identity in Music with Hermitage Fellows Amir ElSaffar and Wang Lu

Friday, January 7, 5pm

The Hermitage Beach (entrance at 6660 Manasota Key Road, Englewood, Florida 34223)

Wang Lu’s Hermitage Residency generously sponsored by Ina Schnell in memory of Susan Brainerd.

Register here.
Registration is required. $5 per person.

Trumpeter, composer, and vocalist Amir ElSaffar returns to the Hermitage to share his work on the beach, following his 2020 performance as the inaugural artist in the “Hermitage @ Selby Gardens” series. Hailed as “one of the most promising figures in jazz today” by the Chicago Tribune, ElSaffar is a remarkable cross-disciplinary artist, creating cross-cultural music that mixes ancient and modern sound. Wang Lu, pianist and composer, adds her cosmopolitan and stylistically wide-ranging perspective, which earned her the Berlin Prize in 2019 as well as a Guggenheim Fellowship. Come see what happens when these incredible artists sit side-by-side to share their latest works.