Curatorial Council

Each year our National Curatorial Council of experts in their disciplines selects more than 70 artists for Hermitage residencies. Members of the Curatorial Council are connected to some of the most renowned American cultural institutions.


Sanford Biggers, Guggenheim Fellow, Hermitage Greenfield Prize Winner
Eric Booth, Arts Education Author and Speaker
Christopher Burney, Artistic Director of New York Stage and Film
Daniel Byers, Director at Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts, Harvard UniversityClaire Chase, Flutist, Avery Fisher Award Winner, MacArthur Fellow
Jennifer Clement, President, PEN International
Kimberly Drew, Independent Curator and Art Influencer
Nataki Garrett, Artistic Director of Oregon Shakespeare FestivalCathy Park Hong, Pulitzer Prize Finalist, Time“100 Most Influential People”
Mitchell Jackson, Pulitzer Prize Winning Author
Rajiv Joseph, Award-Winning Playwright and Screenwriter 
Terrance McKnight, WNYC Radio Host
Du Yun, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Composer 

Joseph V. Melillo, Executive Producer, Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), New York, NY

Darrell Ayers, retired Vice President for Education and Jazz, The Kennedy Center, Washington, DC; now in Sarasota, FL

Dr. Anthony BannonDirector, Burchfield Penney Art Center, Buffalo, NY

Dan Cameron, Former Chief Curator of Orange County Museum of Art

Anne Cattaneo, Dramaturg and Director, LCT Directors Lab, Lincoln Center, New York, NY

Michael Bigelow Dixon, Assistant Professor of Theater, Transylvania University, Lexington, KY

Kenneth Fischer, retired President, University Musical Society at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Linda S. Golding, Founder/Director, The Reservoir

Mandy GreenfieldArtistic Director of Williamstown Theater Festival

Colleen Jennings-RoggensackExecutive Director, Arizona State University Gammage, Tempe, AZ

Emily Mann, longtime Artistic Director of The McCarter Theater, Princeton University

Christopher MerrillDirector of Creative Writing Program, University of Iowa

Emily Nemens, Former Editor of The Paris Review

Josip Novakovich, Writer; Professor, Department of English at Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Christopher Offutt, writer, formerly with the Iowa Writers’ Workshop at the University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA

Valerie Cassel OliverCurator of Modern & Contemporary Art, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Carey Perloff, retired Artistic Director, American Conservatory Theatre, San Francisco, CA

Kiki Petrosino, Director of Creative Writing Program, University of Louisville

Franklin SirmansDirector, Perez Museum of Art, Miami, FL

Robert SpanoMusic Director of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

George Steel, at the time with the Miller Theatre at Columbia University, New York, NY

Limor Tomer, General Manager, Live Arts, Metropolitan Museum of Art